Important vote taking place by Dublin City Councillors for Kimmage to Donnybrook Quietway

**CALL TO ACTION **:

On Monday the 8th April at 3pm the South East Area Committee of Dublin City Council will meet to vote on whether to fund a public consultation process for the proposed Kimmage to Donnybrook Quietway project.

This project is an important first step in creating safe cycling infrastructure in Dublin City. It will create a safe route for children to cycle to the many schools along its route, away from the busy main thoroughfares.https://docs.google.com/document/u/1/d/1x9KOnfD1ja-yylO9PCbK6t6XbqznLuhU…

You can read more about Quietways and this particular proposal here and you can view the draft Feasibility Report here.

Ahead of Monday’s vote please contact the councillors on the committee to urge them to vote in favour of the public consultation funding. Remember; this is only a vote on whether to fund a public consultation about the Quietway, this isn’t even a vote on whether to build the Quietway itself!

The contact details for the relevant City Councillors can be found below:

Councillor Chris Andrews 087 2851515 chris.andrews@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Sinn Féin

Councillor Kieran Binchy 0871774365 kieran.binchy@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Fine Gael

Councillor Claire Byrne 0877467872 claire.byrne@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Green Party

Councillor Mannix Flynn 0872246664 mannix.flynn@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Independent

Councillor Frank Kennedy 0873383972 frank.kennedy@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Fianna Fáil

Councillor Dermot Lacey 0872646960 dermot.lacey@labour.ie Pembroke-South Dock Labour

Councillor Paddy McCartan 087 2248817 cllrpatmccartan@gmail.com Pembroke-South Dock Fine Gael

Councillor Sonya Stapleton 0871475209 sonya.stapleton@dublincity.ie Pembroke-South Dock Independent

Councillor Patrick Costello 087 9431494 patrick.costello@dublincity.ie Rathgar-Rathmines Green Party

Councillor Anne Feeney 0872955256 anne.feeney@dublincity.ie Rathgar-Rathmines Fine Gael

Councillor Mary Freehill 0868126378 marycfreehill@gmail.com Rathgar-Rathmines Labour

Councillor Ruairi McGinley 0868301111 ruairi.mcginley@dublincity.ie Rathgar-Rathmines Independent

Councillor Claire O’Connor 0876644013 claire.oconnor@dublincity.ie Rathgar-Rathmines Fianna Fáil

Councillor Dr Paddy Smyth 0860676598 paddy.smyth@dublincity.ie Rathgar-Rathmines Fine Gael

**TWITTER CONTACT LISTS **

https://mobile.twitter.com/ccferrie/lists/dubse-cllrs/members

Suggested wording:

Dear Councillor,

I am writing to ask you to support the proposal to fund a public consultation process for the proposed Kimmage to Donnybrook Quietway project. I believe that this project will be an important step in making Dublin a safe city for cycling. With rising injuries and fatalities among people cycling and with childhood obesity increasing at an unprecedented rate it has never been more important to invest in safe cycling infrastructure.

While I understand that there are concerns among some local residents who feel that the project might negatively impact on their area, I believe that these concerns can be assuaged through a process of public consultation and engagement and that the greater benefits of the proposed Quietway will become apparent.

Yours sincerely,

Friday, April 5, 2019

Help us do more for cycling in Dublin, please consider getting involved.